ARFI (Aerosol Radiative Forcing over India), is the core project of Aerosol and Radiative Forcing projects of ISRO-GBP, implemented through SPL.

ARFI aims at evolving accurate regional aerosol characterization, incorporating the heterogeneities in space, time and spectral domains for periodical and accurate estimates of Aerosol Radiative Forcing over India and to assess the impacts on regional and global climate.

ARFI involves continuous measurements of various properties of aerosols using the network (ARFINET) of aerosol observatories (more than 42 at present).





Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore and Minicoy
Tamilnadu Agricultural University, Ooty
ISTRAC,Port Blair, Space Physics Laboratory
Ponmudi Aerosol Observatory, Ponmudi, Space Physics Laboratory
SRM University, Chennai
S K University, Anantapur
Goa University, Goa
National Remote Sensing Centre, Hyderabad
Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Hyderabad
Andhra University, Visakhapatnam
Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology, Pune
Institute of Minerals and Materials Technology, Bhubaneswar
Regional Remote Sensing Centre (RRSC),Nagpur
IAF station,Naliya, Indian Air Force & SPL
Saurashtra University, Rajkot
Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad
Tripura University, Agartala
Manipur University, Imphal
Banaras Hindu University
North Eastern Space Application Centre (NESAC), Shillong
M L Sukhadia University, Udaipur and Jaisalmer
Dibrugarh University, Dibrugarh
Aryabhatta Research Institute of Observational Sciences, Nainital
Punjabi University, Patiala, 
Indian Institute of Remote Sensing, Dehradun
GB Pant Institute for Himalayan Environment and Development, Kullu
Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bangalore (Hanle)
National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi
Yogi Vemana University, Kadappa
Calcutta University, Kolkata
Dayalbagh Educational Institute, Agra
DDU Gorakhpur University, Gorakhpur
S V University, Vijayawada
Mysore, discontinued after 1999
Jodhpur, IMD and RRSC-Jodhpur, discontinued after 2001
Kharagpur, RRSC-Kharagpur, discontinued after 2010