Scientific Advisory Committee

Category: Home
Published Date Written by SPL WebMaster

The Scientific Advisory Committee for SPL, (SAC/SPL), has a very important role in SPL's general functioning. Constituted by the Chairman, ISRO, it comprises of  domain experts relevant to the various scientific disciplines of interest to SPL. The SAC oversees the research programs of the laboratory through its annual reviews of the accomplishment, offers constructive comments and suggestions toward the future, identifies the thrust areas and problems to be focussed, recommends major new initiatives for the laboratory and its budget.

Following is the list of members of SAC/SPL:


Dr. George Joseph, Distinguished Professor, ISRO


Dr. T. K. Alex, Vikram Sarabhai Distinguished Professor, ISRO

Dr. S. Somanath, Director, VSSC, Thiruvananthapuram

Prof. P. C. Agrawal, Professor of Physics, Mumbai University, Mumbai

Prof. Animesh Maitra, Professor, Institute of Radio Physics and Electronics, Calcutta University, Kolkata

Prof. Archana Bhattacharya, JC Bose National Fellow, IIG, Navi Mumbai

Prof. P. Balarama Rao, ISRO Visiting Scientist, NRSC, Hyderabad

Prof. V. K. Dadhwal, Director, IIST, Thiruvananthapuram

Dr. B. V. Krishna Murthy, Emeritus Scientist, SRM University, Chennai

Prof. K. Mohankumar, Director, ACARR, CUSAT, Kochi

Prof. K. Niranjan, Registrar, Andhra University, Visakhapatnam

Dr. A. K. Patra, Director, NARL, Gadanki

Dr. Poornachandra Rao, Director, NCESS, Thiruvananthapuram

Prof. M. M. Sarin, JC Bose National Fellow, PRL, Ahmedabad

Prof. S. K. Satheesh, Chairman, DCCC, IISc, Bangalore

Dr. P. Sreekumar, Director, SSPO, ISRO Headquarters, Bangalore

Shri R. Umamaheswaran, Scientific Secretary, ISRO, Bangalore


Dr. Radhika Ramachandran, Director, SPL, VSSC, Thiruvananthapuram

  • Last Modified: 04 Feb 2019.
Copyright © 2019 Space Physics Laboratory. All Rights Reserved.
This Month's Visitors:645
Total No. of Visitors:37202
Joomla 1.7 templates - Joomla template maker. Custom text here